Radio Mystery Theater radio show (1974-1982, United States)

Original title

CBS Radio Mystery Theater

Episode time

45 minutes



Radio Mystery Theater 1974 reviewRadio Mystery Theater radio show

Radio drama anthology created by Himan Brown, who during his long career directed more than 30,000 radio shows, including such series as Bulldog Drummond, Dick Tracy, Flash Gordon, Grand Central Station and Inner Sanctum Mysteries. The series kept format similar to the classic shows of 1930s and 1940s (like The Mysterious Traveler and The Whistler), but despite having Mystery Theater in the title Brown introduced episodes containing scripts from other genre, like horror, science fiction, comedy, Western and even historical dramas.

Each episode of the show was introduced by narrator, E.G. Marshall, later actress Tammy Grimes, and closed with the same conclusion line, which was another homage to the classic mystery show of old time radio. Episodes were longer, about 45 minutes each, which allowed to deeper and more complicated storylines to be used. Well known actors from past, as well as upcoming stars, were taking part in episodes, like Mercedes McCambridge and Morgan Fairchild, Santos Ortega and John Lithgow to name few. CBS Radio Mystery Theater was a place, where aucience could listen to stars of the old time radio (f.e. Hans Conried, Agnes Moorehead) as well as people that were raising to stardom on TV (like Richard Crenna, Holland Taylor, Julie Newmar).

Radio Mystery Theater episodes

The Old Ones Are Hard to Kill
The Return of the Moresbys
The Bullet
Lost Dog
No Hiding Place
Honeymoon With Death
I Warn You Three Times
Cold Storage
Death Rides a Stallion
The Resident

show all episodes

old time radio shows